Newbie's problem with GetListItems and Firefox

Apr 2, 2010 at 7:08 PM

First: Thanks so much for this library - it's been a huge help.  I'm fairly new to it and to jQuery, though, and I must be doing something wrong with the GetListItems operation in $().SPServices.   My code works perfectly in IE, but I'm not getting all the list data back in Firefox.  There is only one item in the list I'm working with, it's used to provide default data for another application.  Using this simple code for testing:

$().SPServices({
  operation: 'GetListItems',
  listName: 'Setup',
  CAMLRowLimit: 1,
  completefunc: function(xData, Status) {
   var out = $().SPServices.SPDebugXMLHttpResult({node: xData.responseXML});
   $('body').append(out);
  } 
 });

I get a full XML response in IE, but in Firefox (and Chrome, for that matter), the listing stops at the <listitems> node.  No <rs:data>, no <z:row>.   What's truly confusing to me is that if I switch operations to GetList or GetListAndView, I get a full response in FF and Chrome.  It only seems to be GetListItems that's not working.  Any help would be greately appreciated (and would result in even more spontaneous praise for this library than I already give, which is a lot).  Thanks!

Coordinator
Apr 2, 2010 at 7:45 PM

Let's try to isolate the problem.  You're calling SPDebugXMLHttpResult, which could also have a bug.  Try this instead:

$().SPServices({
  CAMLRowLimit: 1,
   alert(xData.responseXML.xml);
  } 
 });

M.

Apr 2, 2010 at 11:33 PM

I tried this, and while it works in IE, xData.responseXML.xml comes up “undefined” in the Firefox alert.   (BTW: I’m using jQuery 1.4.2 and SPServices 5.2.)  I tried a few variations on this, hoping it might narrow things down:

$().SPServices({
  operation: 'GetListAndView',
   var idAttr=$(xData.responseXML).find('List').attr('ID');
   alert(idAttr);
  } 
 });