Write columns using SPDisplayRelatedInfo

Jun 15, 2010 at 10:33 PM

Good afternoon,

I am using the SPDisplayRelatedInfo function in a sharepoint list but would like to expand the usability by having it save the data to existing columns in my site.  What I am attempting to do is create form "templates" that live in a different list.  When my users select the template name from a look up field, I would like the template data to copy into the columns on the New request.  If they don't select one, they can still fill them out manually.  I would also like them to be able to edit the individual fields after they select the template, thus the need for copying the data instead of just showing it.  I found a similar discussion that mentioned using:

var divId = "showRelated_" + encodeColumn(opt.columnName);

but being the novice that I am, I don't know where to put this line so that I can call the data into a field.  I have some javascript, that I also googled, I'm really not a java developer, to set the field once I have the data, at least I hope I do.

Can you lend any assistance?

Jared

Coordinator
Jun 16, 2010 at 4:04 AM
Edited Jun 16, 2010 at 4:04 AM

You can definitely do this.  Using SPDisplayRelatedInfo only makes sense if you want to use it to display the content from the other item(s) on the form.  Otherwise, you can just use GetListItems to grab the other item(s) and copy the values from the columns into the current item you are working with.

I realize that I'm glossing over things here, but it really doesn't have to be that hard, though I can't really give you the "answer" without knowing a lot about your lists.

M.

p.s. The ID for the DIV I create in SPPDisplayRelatedInfo no longer starts with "showRelated_". A few versions back I changed it to "SPDisplayRelatedInfo_" to make it more consistent with the other functions, as noted in the docs $().SPServices.SPDisplayRelatedInfo

Jun 16, 2010 at 2:33 PM