Trying to pull current user manager from UserProfileService.asmx

Oct 28, 2010 at 1:19 AM

I am new to Javascript, but have a slight understanding. I am looking for someone to point me in the right direction.

I currently have a custom list, in MOSS with a few fields for user information. I am using SPServices to auto-populate the user's account name, full name, phone number, email address, job title and department. The last field that I need to auto-populate is not found on the page http://{servername}/_layouts/userdisp.aspx?Force=True but it is in Active Directory and the uuser's My Site, so i would assume I can use the UserProfileService to get this information. My question is, how do I do that?

Coordinator
Oct 28, 2010 at 3:56 PM

Ruth:

Here's an example of calling the  function, which ought to give you access to the propoerties you're looking for. All this will do is show you the available values on the page, so I'm sure you'll have some further questions.

M.

<script language="javascript" type="text/javascript" src="../Script Files/jquery-1.4.2.min.js"></script> 
<script language="javascript" type="text/javascript" src="../Script Files/jquery.SPServices-0.5.7.min.js"></script> 
<script language="javascript" type="text/javascript"> 

$(document).ready(function() { 
    $().SPServices({ 
      operation: "GetUserProfileByName", 
      async: false, 
      AccountName: "andermah", 
      completefunc: function (xData, Status) { 
          var out = $().SPServices.SPDebugXMLHttpResult({ 
             node: xData.responseXML, 
             outputId: "#thisId" 
           }); 
           $("#thisId").html("").append("<b>This is the output from the GetUserProfileByName operation:</b>" + out); 
      } 
    }); 
  }); 
</script> 
<div id="thisId"></div>

Oct 28, 2010 at 7:06 PM

Ok, this works, I get the output and I see the manager field available to me. And you guessed right, I do have more questions :)