Problem with jQuery/SPServices

Feb 2, 2011 at 3:37 PM
Edited Feb 2, 2011 at 3:49 PM
I'm not entirely sure where the problem is. References? Syntax? Some setting somewhere in IE or SP? I can't for the life of me get anything in jQuery to run. I can get the first alert, and that's it. The 2 files are in the layouts folder (references won't save in my code block for some reason) and the code is in a CEWP for now (don't boo and hiss, I just need to see it work before I get all fancy with it). I don't have it all encapsulated with a $(document).ready because I need this before everything else, and its not modifying anything on the page, I just need the value, but I don't know if that affects anything as I'm relatively new to the jQuery thing.

So, if someone could take a look, and maybe a second set of eyes can tell me I'm doing it wrong, that would be great. I'd also like to know if there are any settings in IE, or SP, that would prevent the scripts from loading, thus making the SPServices call fail, and if there is anything else that could affect it.

<script type="text/javascript"> alert("First"); $().SPServices({ operation: "GetListItems", listName: "Filer Status List", async: false, CAMLViewFields: "<ViewFields><FieldRef Name='Modified'/></ViewFields>", CAMLRowLimit: 1, completefunc: function (xData, Status) { $(xData.responseXML).find("z:row").each(function() { var modDate = $(this).attr("ows_Modified"); $("#modDatex").append(modDate); )}; } )}; alert("Second"); </script>

Any kind of assistance would be greatly appreciated.
Aargh, where'd my formating go!? Sorry it looks so bad. I haven't posted here before, so I don't know what tags to use to make it look pretty. Code tag doesn't seem to help.
Coordinator
Feb 2, 2011 at 4:50 PM
Edited Feb 2, 2011 at 4:50 PM

FereroJ:

No worries about the CEWP. No booing. No hissing.

Looking at your script, you're missing the closing });

<script type="text/javascript">
 alert("First");
 $().SPServices({