Parse XML into SP columns

Apr 11, 2011 at 8:51 PM

I have a client who, when a Adobe form is completed, has the option to email the output as either XML or PDF.  He is currently emailing the PDF to a library, but this has two distinct disadvantages - the files are large, and no real metadata is gathered.

We would instead like to email the xml to a library, and then use JavaScript and SPServices to parse out the data into list columns.  Fortunately the tags are simple and non-reocurring within a single document, so the parsing and using SPServices to populate the items is fairly simple.

I am stuck at the beginning - how can I use SPServices to open up the xml for parsing?

Also, if there is a slicker way to parse the xml other than .split (I am a newbie of sorts - or at least un-schooled) I am open to suggestions!

I live by simple example - lets assume the xml is sample.xml, it is ID one in a library called Output with columns Field1, Field2, Field3 (that correspond to the tags in the xml).  Any examples?

Apr 12, 2011 at 3:30 AM
Edited Apr 12, 2011 at 12:12 PM

I don't think that this is a very good use for SPServices. I think an event handler on the list to process the inbound emails is what you need to make this work. There wouldn't be any way to trigger a script-based solution, as these scripts run client side, not on the server.

Apr 12, 2011 at 12:06 PM

Yep - I agree.  Unfortunately, my organization does not allow client IT support groups to use SPD or any other tools, so I am limited to CEWPs and the like.  I can put in a request for the corporate group to develop a solution, but it is an arduous task at best.