Dynamic Footer using "GetListItems"

Apr 25, 2011 at 7:54 PM

I just stumbled across SPServices last week, and I'm trying to implement it into a solution I'm working through.  I'm attempting to create a dynamic footer that pulls it's content from a list item in a list called "Footer".  I created a custom column called "Footer-Content" that is a rich text field (to allow for formatting, links, etc.).  The basic set-up is one masterpage for multiple subsites, where each subsite will have different footer content.  The managers of each subsite need to be able to change the footer content but don't have access to SPDesigner, which is why I'm attempting to do this with a list.

Initially looking through the SPServices API, it looks like GetListItems is my best option (I could be wrong, this is my first time using it).  My trouble is that I don't know how to reference a custom column in a specific list using the API.  I'm hoping someone can point me in the right direction.

I can give more info in need be, I'm just looking for some inital thoughts and a little bit of direction.  

Thanks,

~Drew

Coordinator
Apr 25, 2011 at 8:43 PM
Edited Apr 25, 2011 at 8:44 PM

I've done this type of implementation a couple times; fat footer built by SharePoint list(s).

If you're pulling from multiple lists on multiple sites you'll need an SPServices GetListItems call to each list. The web services are permissions trimmed so you'll need to make sure that all users have read access to the list(s) containing the footer content.