Pulling information from the User Information List.

May 17, 2011 at 12:06 AM

I’m still a little new to jquery and SPServices but am finding both very useful.

Im creating a custom JavaScript solution for our SharePoint intranet,

I want to create an JavaScript array containing all users, the url to their photo, an extension number and a few other custom user fields.

It seems like SPService should be capable of this, but where do I start?

I have a fairly good grasp of JavaScript.

May 17, 2011 at 2:27 AM

Do you really want ALL users? Because that's actually sort of difficult. If it's a subset of users based upon some group membership or site role, then either the Users and Groups and/or UserProfileService Web Services may help. Can you explain more about your actual requirements?

May 17, 2011 at 2:48 AM

Thanks for getting back to me, I am in the process of building an office maps.

I have created a map of the office, its a Google maps style map, I can dynamically build objects on the map, people, pcs, printers… . and navigate around it.

I have a list all seat location with a SeatID and x,y.

Then I wanted to add an extra field in the users information list that references the SeatID.

Then I want to be able to display information about staff as a tool tip(i can do but i just need the information).

I guess I could have a people field in the seat list, but I still want to be able to reference say the url of the profile picture, extention number and such.

We have about 120 staff, so the list isnt going to be massive.

I am open for suggestions/work arounds. 

May 17, 2011 at 2:51 AM

I could use a subset of users upon a group.

May 17, 2011 at 2:57 AM

Take a look at combining the results of a call to GetUserCollectionFromGroup with calls to GetUserProfileByName to get the individual profile data. I'm almost certain that will get you what you need.

May 17, 2011 at 4:01 AM