Request: SPRequireUnique with dataview webpart

May 31, 2011 at 10:49 PM

Although I'm fairly new to the SPServices, I really like the simplicity and JQuery integration behind it - I'm coming from SPAPI which worked well but required a bit more work, so thank you for that.

One thing I'd really like to have is the ability to use SPRequireUnique on dataform webparts during New/edit. The issue is that you cannot pass any listID to the function or target specific elements.

I'll probably write a function that mimic's your SPRequireUnique, but I was wondering why this wasn't built-in with the many great functions. Looking at the source code it seems that you would have to pass the listID instead of looking it up from URL and the target could be the object itself as triggered by jQuery.

In short you would have something like:

$("#FieldID").SPServices.SPRequireUnique({listID: "1231298-12312-1312312", columnStaticName: "Title"});

As simple as this seems, I'm just not sure why it wasn't part of this code? I'll be more than happy to share my final code and maybe see it integrated :)

Coordinator
May 31, 2011 at 10:53 PM

There's no need to pass the listID, as I figure out what list you're working with from the context. This means that your customized forms simply need to live in the /Lists/ListName context, or if it's a library, then /LibraryName/Forms.

Make sense?

M.

Coordinator
May 31, 2011 at 10:56 PM

Oh, and I missed that you were doing

$("#FieldID").SPServices.SPRequireUnique({listID: "1231298-12312-1312312", columnStaticName: "Title"});

No need for that selector, as the function simply finds the appropriate element for the columnStaticName in the DOM.

$().SPServices.SPRequireUnique({
  columnStaticName: "Title"
});

as shown in the docs.

M.

May 31, 2011 at 11:07 PM
Edited May 31, 2011 at 11:42 PM

Since I made a quick hack to the functions - I'll post my starting code too (probably needs to be tweaked / optimized)