Duplicates in cascade dropdown

Jul 29, 2011 at 1:45 PM

First of all, thank you for an excellent script.

I am not a coder by default but have been working and customizing sharepoint sites for a year now. I have been implementing your script in an internal site with 3 lists:

client

project with client lookup

and task with client and project lookup.

The problem i am having is that i am getting duplicates in the dropdown for the client in the first cascade. the filtering is working fine, it is just that if a client has 5 projects his name will show 5 times. If i select any of them the rest of the dropdowns work ok.

I found a few entries with similar issues in the discussions but nothing helped.

To test it out i removed all non essential code and tried just one cascade and the reults are the same. The code is:

<script type="text/javascript" src="../../../Shared%20Documents/Systemfiles/jquery-1.6.1.min.js"></script>  

<script type="text/javascript" src="../../../Shared%20Documents/Systemfiles/jquery.SPServices-0.6.2.min.js"></script>  

<script type="text/javascript">  
$(document).ready(function() {
$().SPServices.SPCascadeDropdowns({
relationshipList: "{4E0F1FE8-EAFE-4D65-9305-A476E97D504A}",
			relationshipListParentColumn: "Client",
			relationshipListChildColumn: "Title",
			parentColumn: "Client",
			childColumn: "Project",
			debug: true
		});
});
</script> 

The only logic i can see causing the issue is that i use the GUID for the relationship list, otherwise following the example with cities and regions the setting are the same. For some reason it cannot find my "projects" relationship list but i am content with GUID as long as it works.
Am i right that this could be the issue?
All help appreciated.
Peter
Coordinator
Aug 1, 2011 at 4:32 AM

Peter: