webURL on GetListItems. What's the secret?

Feb 5, 2012 at 3:06 AM

I'm new to spservices and have made some pretty significant improvements on my site in a short time.  Love it..., but... Can someone help me understand the webURL argument on GetListItems?  I am using this block of code below for navigation. I'm using listName a GUID since it didn't appear to function properly as i went from site to sub-site.  Here is the code that works perfectly:

$(document).ready(function() {
  $().SPServices({
    operation: "GetListItems",
    async: false,
    listName: "{23BB2DDE-4EEF-47B1-BD20-7EFE2D99D0D4}",
    CAMLViewFields: "<ViewFields><FieldRef Name='Title' /><FieldRef Name='URL' /><FieldRef Name='RoutingRuleDescription' /></ViewFields>",
    completefunc: function (xData, Status) {
      $(xData.responseXML).SPFilterNode("z:row").each(function() {
          var title = ($(this).attr("ows_Title"));
          var href = ($(this).attr("ows_URL")).split(",")[0];
          var descr = ($(this).attr("ows_RoutingRuleDescription"));
          var target = ($(this).attr("ows_target"));

var liHtml = "<li><a href='"+ href +"' title='"+descr+"' target='"+target+"'>" + title + "</a></li>";
        $("#colinks").append(liHtml);

});
    }
  });
});

This is on the master page of my intranet web application. Now, I have 2 other web applications: one for search, and one for people.  Each of these web applications has their own master page as well.  When I <ctrl>+<c> | <ctrl>+<v> the code into the master page it doesnt work (as expected) since the list that holds the items only exists on the intranet web application.  I found the webURL argument and it looked like my solution.  Yet, I can't ever get it to work correctly.  Here is my busted code:

// From Search.company.com
  $().SPServices({
    async: false,
    webURL: "http://intranet.company.com/",
    listName: "{23BB2DDE-4EEF-47B1-BD20-7EFE2D99D0D4}",