best practices for developing javascript for sharepoint

Feb 12, 2012 at 1:51 AM

Hey Mark,
Can you share some of what you;ve learned about how best , most productive, way to devlop javascript for sharepoint?

If I have keep my javascript in a document library, It's mot easy to edit it with visual studio. Ther'es no
file--> open with, vs2010 as far as i know.

What editor did you use when developing spservices? VS2010 is OK, but it would be great to have refactoring , intellisensese, etc..

Any tips on this?

Feb 13, 2012 at 1:24 PM

Best practices can be misleading, as there are often quite a few good practices, some of which may make sense for you in your environment and others which may not.

As for my development, I use SharePoint Designer 2007 on a WSS 3.0 environment to do most of the work. I then test things out in MOSS, SharePoint Foundation and 2010 Enterprise. I'm an old school coder, so the amount of color coding and hints for script that I get in SharePoint Designer is fine for me; all the fancy Intellisense and refactoring tools just get in my way.

One trick you can use is to map a drive to your Document Library. That way you can open your script files with your tool of choice.

Feb 13, 2012 at 1:44 PM

Mark Rackley provides some good options for getting started with jQuery (but the points are valid for JavaScript in general) on his blog at SharePoint Hillbilly.

Feb 13, 2012 at 1:59 PM

I'm with Marc here, most of my development is done directly in SharePoint Designer. I've also found a good browser based tool with console input is also valuable so that I can run code directly against the SharePoint environment to force hit breakpoints to see what's going on inside the code. FireBug has been my tool of choice, but most modern browsers have good developer tools that include a console.