SPCascadeDropdown can't find parentColumn Issue

Mar 22, 2012 at 9:03 PM
Edited Mar 22, 2012 at 9:04 PM

I am new to jQuery and java so be gentle. I have been working with the SPCascadeDropdown for a few days now and keep having the same issue. The debug keeps giving the following error.

"Error in Function

SPServices.SPCascadeDropdowns

Parameter

parentColumn: Account

Column not found on page"

The Display Name of the parentColumn I am working with is "Account". No matter what I do, I can not get past this error. Here is the script I am using.

<asp:Content ContentPlaceHolderId="PlaceHolderMain" runat="server">
<script language="javascript" type="text/javascript" src="/chem/hidden/jquery-1.7.1.min.js"></script>
<script language="javascript" type="text/javascript" src="/chem/hidden/jquery.SPServices-0.7.1a.min.js"></script>
<script language="javascript" type="text/javascript">
$().SPServices.SPCascadeDropdowns({
  relationshipWebURL: "/chem/Lists",
  relationshipList: "Account Products",
  relationshipListParentColumn: "Account",
  relationshipListChildColumn: "Title",
  relationshipListSortColumn: "Title",
  parentColumn:"Account",
  childColumn: "Product 1",
  CAMLQuery: "<Eq><FieldRef Name='Status'/><Value Type='Text'>Active</Value></Eq>",
  listName: $().SPServices.SPListNameFromUrl(),
  promptText: "",
  simpleChild: true, // Added in v0.6.2
  selectSingleOption: true, // Added in v0.6.2
  matchOnId: true,     // Added in v0.7.1
  completefunc: null,
  debug: true
});</script>

I would really appreciate any help I can get on this.

Joe

Mar 22, 2012 at 10:15 PM

This error (I think) is saying that on the page from where this script is running, it can not find an input filed named 'Account'... First thing I would try is the following:

1. Enclose your code (the call to SPCascadeDropdowns()) in jQuery's .ready() event, to insure it is executed only when the page is "ready"
  2. Include an alert that checks if the Account field is on the page.