Assistance Needed with SPServices GetListItems Function

May 22, 2012 at 11:29 AM

Hi

If anyone could help me then you might be able to save my head from further bashing against my desk.

My requirement is fairly simple - I am writing a piece of Javascript which is attempting to look up a value from one list to use in another list. The obvious choice is to use GetListItems in the awesome SPServices library. I have never used this function before however and I seem to be missing something fundamental.

The list that I am looking up from is "Heatmap Skill Codes" and I am attempting to return the value of the "Skill Title" field based on the "Skill Code" field that matches the alpCode parameter. Then I am setting the alpTitle variable to the "Skill Title" field content. Then I want to insert it into a field on the SharePoint form (though even putting it into an alert box would be nice as can be seen at the bottom of my script.

Essentially my script looks like this ....

var queryStringValues = $().SPServices.SPGetQueryString();
var alpCode = queryStringValues["ALP"];
alert("NewValue = " + alpCode);

$(document).ready(function() {
	var alpTitle = "";

var startDateVar = new Date();
	var endDateVar = new Date();
	endDateVar.setDate(startDateVar.getDate() + 42);
	var startDate = startDateVar.getDate() + "/" + (startDateVar.getMonth() + 1) + "/" + 

startDateVar.getFullYear();
	var endDate = endDateVar.getDate() + "/" + (endDateVar.getMonth() + 1) + "/" + 

endDateVar.getFullYear();
	$("input[title='Proposed Start Date']").val(startDate);
	$("input[title='Proposed End Date']").val(endDate);

var query = "<Query><Where><Eq><FieldRef Name='Skill Code'/><Value Type='Text'>" + 

alpCode + "</Value></Eq></Where></Query>";

$().SPServices({
		operation: "GetListItems",
		async: false,
		listName: "Heatmap Skill Codes",
		CAMLQuery: query,
		completefunc: function (xData, Status) {
			$(xData.responseXML).find("[nodeName='z:row']").each(function () {