Help with Relational Lists

Oct 4, 2012 at 5:38 PM

I'm new to SPServices but absolutely love the burden it has removed with interaction between SharePoint data and the web services.  I'm building a site index navigation page.  I have it working just fine but wanted to pull related child list info in for each record of the parent.  I'm using the latest version of SPServices and JQuery.  I figured I could loop through the initial GetListItems operation and then pull related using the .SPDisplayRelatedInfo command but it looks like it's only for forms where a user selects something, not a loop operation.  I'm probably wrong, I'm new to this, does anyone have a way and/or examples of pulling parent/child relational data that isn't a form related example?  Any help would be most appreciated, thanks!

Coordinator
Oct 4, 2012 at 5:50 PM

You have the right idea. It's much like you would do in XSL in a DVWP or any other code. You need a GetListItems operation to get the items in the parent list and the an inner loop to get the child items for each parent item.

M.

Oct 4, 2012 at 7:27 PM

I have done this several times on custom built form interfaces.  Here's a code example that should help.  The '$(document).ready(function()' initializes a simple <select> control called 'access_DirectorateFilter'.  That control has an onchange event which fires 'refreshDivisions()' which populates/updates another <select> control calles 'access_DivisionFilter.' That select control contains a filtered set of divisions based on the selected directorate. All of the divisions and directorates are stored in a single list.  The Divisions have a parent (one of the Directorates) whereas the Directorates do not have a parent.

$(document).ready(function(){
  //Populate Directorates
  var strHTMLDirectorates = "";
  $().SPServices({
      operation: "GetListItems",
      async: false,
      listName: "Customers",