Treeview from MOSS 2007 List

Feb 26, 2013 at 9:48 AM
Help!

I'm trying to create a tree view (in a web part) from data contained in a custom list (called FilePlan). The list contains a parentID, ChildID and Name fields (amongst others). I have searched the web and tried adapting a number of examples, but have been unable to get anything to work. I'm fairly new to jQuery and obviously don't have enough knowledge to get this working. I can't use any third party software and don't have access to the server, so it all needs to sit on the client side. We're running SharePoint 2007 with no access to SharePoint Designer either. Any help, preferably some usable code, would be much appreciated. Many thanks.
Feb 26, 2013 at 1:52 PM
I've built this out using JS CSOM, not SPServices b/c the web services can't handle folders correctly. To date, this is the only tree view library worth anything to write about:

http://wwwendt.de/tech/dynatree/doc/samples.html
http://wwwendt.de/tech/dynatree/index.html

This all works client side, so you'll be able to use it within your restrictions.

Cheers,
Matthew
Feb 26, 2013 at 6:38 PM
Thanks Matthew. Some excellent examples. I can see many possibilities using Dynatree, but how do I get the data from a SharePoint list into JSON format and link that into your code?

Paul
Feb 26, 2013 at 7:32 PM
Unfortunately, I cannot share this code (contract details)... To get the data in JSON format, SPServices has an XML to JSON function or if you are using SP2010 and above, you can use CSOM or REST API's.

If you get some code working, I'll be happy to help you along with it.

Cheers,
Matthew
Feb 26, 2013 at 10:43 PM
Hey Matt.
Re: "...web services can't handle folders correctly."

Can you say a few more words on this. I might have the need soon to walk a folder structure and thought that I could get a list of folders and files within a given folder using WebServices.

Let us know.

Thanks.

_____
Paul

Sent from mobile device.
Coordinator