Migration to SharePoint 2013

Mar 22, 2013 at 4:36 PM
I'm new to SPServices and I'm using it to develop on SharePoint 2010. I'm using SPServices 0.7.2. My organization will be upgrading to SharePoint 2013 sometime in the future. What will I need to do (if anything) when the new SharePoint server is installed to keep using the SPServices library? Primarily I'm using GetListItems and Query operations.
Coordinator
Mar 22, 2013 at 5:44 PM
Edited Mar 22, 2013 at 5:49 PM
Unfortunately, the answer will have to be the dreaded "it depends".

The SOAP Web Services are still present in SharePoint 2013, though Microsoft has decided to deprecate them. What that will mean in reality is anyone's guess. There are lots of deprecated pieces of functionality (think sandbox) that would very difficult to remove.

The bigger question is around what you do with the results and such. The DOM in SharePoint 2013 has changed, just as it did from 2007 to 2010. If your code is nice and modular and you are using clean selectors, I would guess that you will have to re-test, perhaps adjust the code, and most likely adjust the CSS.

Keep in mind that many of the adjustments my be outside SPServices itself and just in your own jQuery / JavaScript and CSS.

Think this is a blog post in the making!

M.
Aug 21, 2013 at 2:44 PM
Edited Aug 21, 2013 at 2:45 PM