Cascading lookup - child drop-down not filtering

Jul 26, 2013 at 4:02 AM
Edited Jul 26, 2013 at 4:19 AM
Hi,

I am pretty new to jQuery and am trying to get my head around the Cascading Lookup function.

I have this scenario in SharePoint 2010:
Single Site Collection. At TOP LEVEL there is a list of PCYC Clubs which feeds a Site Column that I use a lot (as the Site Collection is the PCYC's Intranet) PCYC = Police Citizens Youth Clubs in NSW, Australia but that's not relevant.

Further down the Site Collection I have a Site with a couple of lists. The site is to manage attendance and participation in a new State Govt. Learner Driver program.

Within that site I have a List called "Courses" and another called "Participants", and I am trying to implement the cascading lookup on the NewForm page of the Participants List.

The Courses List has a Title column (re-named Course ID) which has a unique value for each course (e.g. 2013 KTA SDC01) and a Column called "PCYC Club" which is the Site Column I mentioned before (which has a Static Name PCYC%5Fx0020%5FClub and I replaced %5F with underscores).

The Participants List also has the PCYC Club lookup using the same Site Column to get the list of clubs, and a lookup to select the Course (2013 XXX SDC XX).

What I am trying to do on the Add Item form when we add a new participant is to have the user select the PCYC Club in the first drop-down and have any Courses that are already created for that club populate the next drop-down which is a lookup to Course ID (Title) from the Courses list.

I know the calls to the jQuery library and the SPServices are working because I got error pop ups at one point when I was playing around.

Here is my script:
<script language="javascript" src="/activities/pcycbrandedprograms/safedrive/jQuery/jquery-1.10.2.min.js" type="text/javascript"></script>