Retrieving a User's Task List?

Aug 8, 2013 at 1:22 AM

First off, let me just say that spservices is an amazing resource.

Question: are there any examples out there of using spservices as a method to retrieve the current user's tasks?

I currently have this functionality using a slightly customized web part (thanks to this great article), but I'd really prefer to do it in spservices. Any suggestions?

Aug 8, 2013 at 2:29 PM

If it's just a single list, then it would be a simple GetListItems with the proper filtering. If you're looking across the site (or wider), then a call to the Search service probably makes sense.

Aug 8, 2013 at 8:33 PM
Edited Aug 8, 2013 at 8:34 PM
Hi Marc,

Thank you for the help! I think I'm getting there, but I am a bit of a novice programmer and am receiving results that are not just for one user. Do you see anything (or several things) in the code below that look ill-advised?

Thanks again!
function getMyTasks() {

// Get Current User
var myUserName= $().SPServices.SPGetCurrentUser({
    fieldName: "UserName"

// Create Search for Tasks
 var queryText = "<QueryPacket xmlns='urn:Microsoft.Search.Query' Revision='1000'>"
    queryText += "<Query>"
    queryText += "<Context>"
    queryText += "<QueryText language='en-US' type='STRING'>"
    queryText += "ContentClass:\"STS_Site\" ContentClass:\"STS_ListItem_Tasks  AssignedTo:" + myUserName + "*\"";
    queryText += "</QueryText>"
    queryText += "</Context>"
    queryText += "</Query>"
    queryText += "</QueryPacket>";

operation: "Query",
    queryXml: queryText,
    completefunc: function (xData, Status) {
        alert("Status: " + Status);
        $(xData.responseXML).find("QueryResult").each(function() {
                    // What are my results?
        }); // End xData response
    } // End completefunc
}); // End SPServices

} // End Function

Aug 17, 2013 at 1:13 AM
Does anyone have any guidance on constructing the proper CAML query for a "My Tasks" list?