SP2010 – Updating multiple list items

Jun 18, 2014 at 1:58 PM
I have a list that we enter information into (list1). I have a second list that we also enter information into (list2). Both lists share a field name (number). Once the (date) field is populated on (list1), I would like for code to update ALL ITEMS in list2 that have the same (number) as the current item being edited in (list1).

It looks like the SPUpdateMultipleListItems would do the trick, but I am no coder, and cannot figure out how to get the list references down.

Both lists are in the same site.

I was thinking about adding this functionality to an ASP button or something along those lines. It would be nice to integrate it directly into the SAVE button on the form itself.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!

(ps: hope this is the right spot Marc!)
Coordinator
Jun 18, 2014 at 2:09 PM
John:

SPUpdateMultipleListItems isn't going to do it for you because it's built to work on only one list. However, you could clone that function and make it work with a little recoding. Since you are "no coder", that may be tough for you, though.

You can certainly call the code on form submit. There's a stub function in SharePoint forms called PreSaveAction that does nothing by default. If you create your own PreSaveAction function, it will fire before the form saves. You could grab the value you want to update and have it happen there.

M.
Jun 18, 2014 at 2:11 PM
I am currently using that PreSaveAction to throw up a confirmation popup on another menu. Would there be a better suite function to do what I am looking to do?
Coordinator
Jun 18, 2014 at 2:13 PM
Edited Jun 18, 2014 at 2:13 PM
No, there's no existing function that will do exactly what you want. But first and foremost, SPServices is a toolkit. All SPUpdateMultipleListItems does is call GetListItems to find the items to update and UpdateListItems to update them. You're looking to do something pretty similar.

M.
Jun 18, 2014 at 2:23 PM