Use SPCascadeDropdowns to select choice field item?

Aug 14, 2010 at 5:56 PM
Edited Aug 14, 2010 at 6:33 PM

So, first things first, I'm a newbie to this.... so please bear with me.

I have an instance where I'm running SPCascadeDropdowns to filter a child lookup field based on a parent lookup field's selection. It works great. What I want to do now is repurpose the code for SPCascadeDropdowns to allow the selection of an item in the child lookup from the previous example to select (not filter) an item in a choice field in the same form. I've written the CAML query for this (which works according to U2U CAML), but where I'm running into issues is figuring out how to change the code to select an item from the choice list based on the query's result, while still allowing the user to select another choice after the code has run (no filtering the field). Any pointers?

Example: I choose "Highrise" from the Parent column, which filters the Child column (using SPCascadeDropdowns). Out of the options in the child column, I choose "Brack". This should auto-select (using what I've named SPCascadeDropdownsChoice) the choice dropdown based on the query I've built (basically, I'm selecting data from the last/previous entry for the child... only one record, though, so I don't have to account for multiple results). The choice dropdown has 0, 4, 7, and 10 as its choices. So it might be autoselected as "4". The user can then change that value as necessary and save the item.

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide!

Regards,

Steve

Coordinator
Aug 14, 2010 at 7:57 PM

Steve: