SPCascadeDropdowns and content types...problem on submit

Jan 14, 2011 at 11:06 PM
Edited Jan 14, 2011 at 11:11 PM

I'm very new to jQuery and these forums (1st day), so please be patient.  : )

I have a list in which I have created a new Content Type to display only a few fields from the list required to start a workflow.  I pasted the following into a CEWP (yes, I am aware that you prefer not to do this, and no, I haven't tried to place the code straight into the form via SPDesigner):

<script type="text/javascript">

$(document).ready(function() {

$().SPServices.SPCascadeDropdowns({

relationshipList: "{3DC292C9-E366-4A36-A0C6-8381701B6B7C}",

relationshipListParentColumn: "Title",

relationshipListChildColumn: "Project_x0020_Leader",

parentColumn: "System",

childColumn: "Project Leader",

debug: false });

}); 

</script>

If I put all the items on the NewForm.aspx and do not use another content type, the lookup works perfectly. If I switch the New button on the list to use the new content type with only a subset of all the fields, I get a cryptic error: "An unexpected error has occurred. Troubleshoot issues with Windows SharePoint Services."
Checked the Event Logs and found Windows SharePoint Search wasn't running, started that and still get the same issue.

Are the content types causing confusion in the JS?

If you use different content types all the time and have never seen this before or think it's just a SP config problem, please let me know. I have spent all day on the issue and I would appreciate any assistance or just a point in the right direction to debug the problem myself.

Thanks in advance, Jason Sheats 

Coordinator
Jan 15, 2011 at 4:30 AM