Cascading Dropdowns- list directly from JavaScript

Jun 27, 2011 at 11:24 PM
Edited Jun 27, 2011 at 11:25 PM

Hi sir Marc (I have knighted you in my small, imaginary world with a SP kingdom),

I have a quick question for you sire,

I am trying to look for a cascading dropdown solution without using the lookup columns, we already have a generic dropdown column that we've been using with considerable amount of data already in place and my manager would like to refrain from having to add new columns- just afraid I guess...

I recall from one of your articles on your blog about you mentioning a possible way to read the lists directly from the Javascript... I'm a Javascript noob unfortunately....also searched the forum and the web but couldn't find much help....can you tell me how difficult this would be to implement / give me some guidance how to start / point me to the right direction?

Thank you so much for your time as always,

John

Coordinator
Jun 28, 2011 at 4:22 AM

John:

Thanks for the mega respect. I just watched Game of Thrones, and I'm not sure being a knight is all its cracked up to be.

How is your existing column populated? Is it a choice column?

However it's populated, it's certainly possible to build some script that addresses your particular needs. The "noob" moniker makes it seem like that might not be the right approach for you, though. Also, you have to maintain the relationship between column A and column B *somewhere*, which is why I took the approach I did.

M.

Jun 28, 2011 at 4:47 PM
Edited Jun 28, 2011 at 4:48 PM

Marc:

Np. At least I'm sure my imaginary world involves far more peace than George R. R. Martin's (author of that movie). lol

Anyhow, yes the existing columns are choice column- drop down menus, there's hundreds of data already populated and forgot to tell you we also have some custom workflows implemented on the form...