SPFilterDropDown: Sort Descending

Jan 16, 2013 at 4:44 PM

As a newbie, I assume I'm doing something wrong.  I got SPFilterDropDown to work using column SortOrder from the parent list.  However I need the list in descending order. But when i traced through the code, I could not see a way for <OrderBy> in the camlQuery to get an "Ascending='FALSE'". 

I can tweak the SPFilterDropDown and make it work using a new arguement (e.g. relationshipListSortAscending), but I'd rather not.

Thanks,Tom

<script type="text/javascript">
  $(document).ready(function() {
    $().SPServices.SPFilterDropdown({
      relationshipWebURL: "/",
      relationshipList: "Plan Dates",
      relationshipListColumn: "Title",
      relationshipListSortColumn: "SortOrder",
      columnName: "Plan Date",
      listName: $().SPServices.SPListNameFromUrl(),
      CAMLQuery: "<IsNotNull><FieldRef Name='Title' /></IsNotNull>",
      debug: true
    });
  });
</script>

Coordinator
Jan 16, 2013 at 4:58 PM

Tom:

I just checked the code, and you're right - I don't have the capability to change the sort order in the function. For now, you could reverse the values in the SortOrder column, I suppose.

I'll add this to the list of enhancements for the next release. I think a new option called relationshipListSortAscending, with values of true or false - default being true - probably makes sense.

M.

Coordinator
Jan 16, 2013 at 4:59 PM
This discussion has been copied to a work item. Click here to go to the work item and continue the discussion.
Feb 15, 2013 at 12:44 PM
You can create a calculated column in your sourcelist with the formula =0-ID to effectively create a mirror of your ID column. Decreasing with every new item.
And sort your relationshipListSortColumn with that.

This is ofcourse only with numerical values.

Eivind
Feb 15, 2013 at 1:11 PM