[noob] Can I use SPServices from outside the SP site ?

Jun 14, 2013 at 11:43 AM
All is in the title, but let's be more specific.

After reading the first steps documentation, I realize that the page using the SPservices is hosted within the SP site.
But I'd want to read the content of a SP list from an external site (different domain, non SP site, SQL server and Colfusion 8). Even noobish as I am, I forecast big troubles with credentials.

So I'm just wondering ... if I'm in the right place ;)
Ad if, by luck I am ... could anyone lead me to appropriate example or documentation ?

Thanks for your time, sry for this level 0 question ...
Jul 18, 2013 at 8:06 PM
I have the same question. I'm primarily an Oracle developer and create a lot of web apps with Application Express. I've been asked to make my applications more "Sharepoint like", but I have virtually no experience with Sharepoint. The main things I'm looking for right now are automatic login of the current OS user and display of the presence icon beside usernames. I've been doing a lot of googling, and this package seems to be the most promising lead I've found so far. I'm just not clear if it only works on SP pages, or if I can use the library on my Application Express pages to "borrow" the desired functionality from our Sharepoint server. Or if there's a better approach out there.

I'm continuing to dig into it on my own, but if anyone can provide some info to save me some time, it would be much appreciated.
Jul 18, 2013 at 10:39 PM
Hi Shayz,

Hopefully this will help:

AFAIK, SPServices can be used outside of Sharepoint, but you will come across issues with credential challenges - SharePoint deals with this automatically, without the user knowing about it, hence why its better to work in SharePoint, then outside of it.