SPServices & XSLT Data Views

Jul 8, 2013 at 3:02 PM
Hello -

I am currently working in 2007 (yes, still!) and I have built a data view using 2 lists. The lists are large and have a lot of fields along with being on separate sites. So, I have built the DV on one of the sites w/ a list and limited the fields in the list that lives on that site. When I try to limit the fields from the other list (on a different site), it errors out. I cannot move the lists to the same site. So, long story short the data view works, but is super slow. I was trying to see if I could pull the data a different way - I have pulled both the lists using SPServices, but I am not experienced enough to make it talk to my XSLT or how to use the data being pulled from SPServices and make it look like my data view that I currently have. Our network isn't the best to begin with, but the performance of this sucker is just SLOW. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Jen
Coordinator
Jul 9, 2013 at 3:53 AM
Jen:

Nothing wrong with working in 2007; lots of my clients are still there!

It's hard to know what to suggest. Your DVWP will probably work if you can edit the XSL manually. If you want to use SPServices instead, you'll need to build the logic in script and there will be a bit of a lag after page load. Generally speaking, either approach ought to work.

M.
Jul 9, 2013 at 8:53 AM
I can edit the XSL manually, but not sure I'm smart enough to know what to edit to make the performance better. Doesn't really matter how the data is pulled, whether its SPServices or not, just somehow need to make the process faster.
Coordinator
Jul 9, 2013 at 1:22 PM
Well, the winning strategy here is to retrieve the least amount of data possible to provide the functionality you need. Only retrieve the items you need and set the ViewFields to only retrieve the columns you need.

M.
Jul 9, 2013 at 1:51 PM