Cascading DropDown - Multiple Children

Nov 10, 2009 at 4:23 PM

Mark,

Firstly I really like the functionality you have created.

I'm pretty new to this and would appreciate some help.  I tried to implement your cascading dropdown function on a sharepoint form and it works perfectly until I try to have one dropdown alter the selection of 2 children dropdowns.  Another issue I'm having is where I'm trying to preset the value of the original drop down using JQuery as this doesn't invoke, what I presume is the onchange event.

On a different note, I was wondering if you could recommend any sites or books I could use to get my head round all of the this.

Thanks for your help

Neal

Coordinator
Nov 11, 2009 at 3:23 AM
Edited Nov 11, 2009 at 9:56 PM

Neal:

I released v0.4.5 today, which fixed a couple of bugs with SPCascadeDropdowns.  Give it a try and let me know if you still have problems.  You might just want to set the default value in the column settings on the list.

I'm always the wrong guy to ask about sites and books because I tend to learn by doing more than reading.  I would definitely recommend EndUserSharePoint.com, though.  (I'm writing a series of articles about the library for EUSP.)  SharePoint and jQuery is a relatively new thing, so I don't know that you'll find anything that covers the two together in much depth.

Let me know how it goes and what you end up using the library for.  I'd like to get some "real world stories" into an upcoming article (obfuscated as needed).

M.

Nov 23, 2009 at 10:54 AM

Hi Marc,

Sorry it took me so long to reply but I managed to get the flu for a couple of day, thankfully not the swine variety.

I've tried the new version and I'm still getting some issues.  The debug doesn't show them so I'm presuming its with the function that's being binded to the control.